News & Events

Home / News & Events / Two RQHR Research Teams Awarded Funding

Two RQHR Research Teams Awarded Funding


In partnership with the Canadian Institues of Health Research’s (CIHR) Strategy for Patient Oriented Research, the Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation awarded funding to five teams conducting innovative research activities that have the potential to benefit the health of Saskatchewan residents. Two of the five successful teams are from RQHR, and we are proud to highlight their research below.

Study Title: Predicting risk of disease progression in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD) in Saskatchewan

Principal investigator: Dr. Bhanu Prasad ($43,076)

Multidisciplinary care is used to slow the progression of disease in patients with CKD. Newer evidence, however, suggests that for patients with low risk of progression to renal failure, multidisciplinary care is more expensive than needed and leads to inappropriate tests/ procedures.
Dr. Prasad and team members are investigating a new tool that identifies which patients with CKD require intensive care in a multidisciplinary clinic and which patients can be appropriately managed in primary care or by a nephrologist. The team members are: Dr. Joanne Kappel, Saskatoon Health Region (SHR); Diane Kozakewycz, RQHR; Tiffany Blair, SHR; Dr. Jennifer St.Onge, RQHR; and Dr. Navdeep Tangri University of Manitoba.

The researchers believe that stratifying patients with CKD to the appropriate care level will improve access to primary care in the community and patient experience, reduce wait times for specialists, and potentially save over a million dollars annually in health care costs in Saskatchewan.

Study Title: A Combined biostatistical and behavioural approach to understanding outcomes in patients living with HIV in Saskatchewan

Principal Investigator: Dr. Alexander Wong ($73,192)

Saskatchewan’s HIV epidemic remains amongst the worst in the developed world. Limited evidence exists on best approaches to care. A diverse multi-disciplinary research team led by Dr. Wong will determine factors which predict poor outcomes in HIV-positive individuals in southern Saskatchewan, and collect behavioural data such as medication and appointment adherence in real-time using an innovative smartphone application platform developed by Dr. Nathaniel Osgood. By identifying patients likely to have poor clinical outcomes and their barriers to optimal care, individualized interventions can be tailored for each patient.

Team members include Drs. Tania Diener and Maurice Hennink, Debbie Rodger and Julie Reed, RQHR; Drs. Nathaniel Osgood, Cindy Feng and Holly Graham, University of Saskatchewan; and Drs. Jeffrey Joy and Richard Harrigan, University of British Columbia.