June College of Medicine Update

Home / Physicians News / June College of Medicine Update

June College of Medicine Update


Most “Learner Friendly” Unit Award

The Pediatric Teaching Unit (PTU) on 4F at the Regina General Hospital has been voted the most “learner friendly” unit by the University of Saskatchewan’s College of Medicine learners in Regina. This distinction recognizes the patient care area that best supports medical education learners each year.  Residents and medical clerks (JURSIs) often spend several weeks on the Pediatric Teaching Unit as part of their training. 

The presentation took place at an appreciation event on the unit on June 1, 2017.  Dr. Gill White, Associate Dean – Regina Campus, presented the award to all members of the Pediatric Teaching Unit. The nursing staff plays a very significant role in supporting medical learners but it is important to recognize the entire team, as everyone who interacts with the learners contributes to their educational experience on the unit.  This was the tenth year for the event.

Along with this special recognition for the Pediatric Teaching Unit, the College of Medicine would like to thank all RQHR staff and physicians for the time they dedicate to make the Regina campus a great place to work and learn. 

Regina’s College of Medicine Campus to Grow News Release

The Regina Qu’Appelle Regional Health Authority (RQRHA) and the University of Saskatchewan’s College of Medicine have committed to a formal 10-year agreement to work together to further develop the University’s College of Medicine Regina campus, to support access and quality of care in the southern region of the province.

“Our Regina campus is a significant and successful part of our college,” said Dr. Preston Smith, dean of medicine. “Today, we are agreeing to guiding principles and shared expectations so that, together, we can better support and further enhance our Regina campus.”

Already, about 40 per cent of all second, third and fourth-year undergraduate medical students take their training in Regina. All first-year medical students currently study in Saskatoon. Post-graduate residency positions offered in Regina include Family Medicine, Emergency Medicine, General Internal Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology and Psychiatry.

The overarching agreement between the university and the RQRHA that established the Regina campus ensured clinical access for health science students. A subsidiary agreement between the College of Medicine and the RQRHA, signed in January 2017, further developed the partnership supporting the training of MD students and residents.

With this formal agreement, the College of Medicine and RQRHA are deepening their partnership to support the Regina campus of the College of Medicine.  This will also support work to align the College of Medicine with the new Provincial Health Authority.

“The Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region values the opportunity to be a host campus to medical students in both their undergraduate and postgraduate training, as indicated by our investments to support learning with library, research, and simulation supports to name just a few,” said RQHR President and CEO Keith Dewar. “We believe the learners bring an element of inquiry to patient care that challenges us to do our best for our patients. RQHR is proud of the work done by physicians and staff in Regina, and southern Saskatchewan, to contribute to this teaching.”

Patients are expected to benefit from improved recruitment and retention of University of Saskatchewan medicine graduates in southern Saskatchewan, as the medical learners’  experiences in Regina will help the physicians to understand the range of practice opportunities available to them once they complete their studies.

The College of Medicine includes among its priorities fostering a province-wide college to ensure student success, improve healthcare throughout Saskatchewan and achieve better graduate retention in Saskatchewan communities. In addition to the College of Medicine campuses in Saskatoon and Regina, the college and associated regional health authorities also support an instructional site in Prince Albert, and  distributed sites in La Ronge, North Battleford, Swift Current and Moose Jaw (with fixed undergraduate student and resident clinical rotations), and in total, over 40 rotating sites in the province where learners receive training.